Friends

Harshita Solanki
3 min readAug 22, 2020

--

From friends to family,

It is a very long journey.

Including all the laughter and tears,

Summing up the insecurities and fears

Who is a friend?

The one who pushes you to do better,

The one who gathers you up, when shattered.

The one who prioritizes you,

The one who appears out of the blue.

You don’t search for them specifically,

They just show up their face slyly.

Remember those summer and winter vacations?

When a month seemed like a long duration.

Because I just wanted to see my friends,

Virtual hugs were the only things I could send.

Remember those night stays?

Where we drank water and pretended to be drunk,

Also, the late night gossips and class bunks.

It has been months which seem like years now,

And I haven’t seen my friends.

‘I miss them’ would be too less to say,

Because their presence makes me gay.

From watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S and planning to live together,

To moving to different cities with different weather.

No matter what happens

You can never forget the journey you have shared,

All the times you got hurt and they cared.

Feel blessed if you have their shoulder to cry on,

A picture on wall with same clothes worn.

Remember those goodbyes after school?

Laughter and cries filled in an emotional pool.

Running late for college lectures,

To wearing clothes with same texture.

All I can say is I love my friends,

And I don’t want this journey to end.

Thank you all for being there for me,

If anyone ever feels alone, Friendship is the key.

Also read — 10 best poems of Rabindranath Tagore

--

--

Harshita Solanki

This blog is about poetry, social issues, empowerment and education.